Gardner Elementary Designated National Blue Ribbon School


From the Kansas Association of School Boards:

Five Kansas schools have been designated National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2017, the U.S. Department of Education announced.

The schools are: Eisenhower Elementary, Geary County USD 475; Sheridan Elementary, also in Geary County USD 475; Gardner Elementary, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Ruth Clark Elementary, Haysville USD 261 and Wineteer Elementary, Derby USD 260.

“These five schools represent the great quality of education taking place throughout Kansas,” said Kansas Education Commissioner Randy Watson. “Kansas schools are doing a good job of preparing children for a successful future, and we will continually improve upon that as we strive to reach our vision of leading the world in the success of each student,” Watson said.

“It is incredible to have two schools named a National Blue Ribbon School in consecutive years,” said Pam Stranathan, superintendent. “This truly acknowledges the hard work and dedication of our students and staff at Gardner Elementary as well as our other schools.  We could not be more proud.”

The Blue Ribbon program recognizes public and private schools where students achieve high academic standards — Exemplary High Performing — or closing the achievement gap — Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing. All five Kansas schools were in the Exemplary High Performing category.

The U.S. Department of Education will formally recognize the 342 National Blue Ribbon Schools at a ceremony Nov. 6-7 in Washington, D.C.

“National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos to the honorees.  “You are visionaries, innovators and leaders. You have much to teach us: some of you personalize student learning, others engage parents and communities in the work and life of your local schools and still others develop strong and forward-thinking leaders from among your teaching staff.”